ContinuousInk.info Forum Index
RegisterSearchFAQMemberlistUsergroups|Join Groups
Knowledge BaseLinksDownloads Gallery 2CalendarLog in
Reply to topic   printer-friendly view Page 1 of 2
Goto page 1, 2  Next
Missing colour ?
Post Missing colour ? 
I've just installed a new EVEREST CIS ultrachrome system. I'm new to CIS and have lost a number of 1290's with clogged nozzles using LYSON Photonic ink cartridges, so I really want this to work!

Upon installing, head cleaning & firing up, the test pattern showed NO Black or Magenta. I left the printer overnight in the hope of clearing the problem ( I had previously cleaned with cleaning carts ).

This morning, a first test pattern print showed an almost 100% result ( apart from only one or two broken lines ), but after only a couple of prints, the MAGENTA disappears from the pattern - but the BLACK is working fine. I'm reluctant to run too many cleaning cycles and flood the printer.

I'm guessing this is quite a simple feed problem? I've read that it's not good to leave clear colours too long and I really don't want to loose another printer due to clogged nozzles.

A simple beginners fixit solution is what I'm after please !

Thanks.

Post Missing colours 
Perhaps a couple more cleaning cycles would remove the air trapped in the non functioning nozzles? If they worked a few hours ago then it is unlikely that the problem is due to dried up ink. Have you tried printing the "purge" patterns available as downloads on the MIS website?

If the nozzles really are clogged, then this worked for me on my Epson 890, albeit with dye based inks.

1)Switch off the printer & remove the power plug (just in case!)
2)Push down the little white lever to the lower left of the cartridges
3)Move the cartridges to the left so as to expose the printhead seal (pull the lower driveband carefully to the left).
4)Using paper towel or absorbent tisssues soak up any surlus ink on the felt pad inside the seal (messy!!)