ContinuousInk.info Forum Index
RegisterSearchFAQMemberlistUsergroups|Join Groups
Knowledge BaseLinksDownloads Gallery 2CalendarLog in
Reply to topic   printer-friendly view Page 1 of 1
TIP: Converting used Canon cartridges to use in a CIS
Post TIP: Converting used Canon cartridges to use in a CIS 
Just a word of warning for anyone who is looking to buy or use some "old", used Canon cartridges in a CIS kit.

I decided to go this route to create a CIS after bidding for and getting a set of empty Canon cartridges that still had their chips.. Creating the kit itself wasn't too hard but I found that the cartridges needed more than a subtle vaccum to get them to refill. In particular I found that the cartridges dry sponge mean't that ink flow took a while to work normally so just bear this in mind when you try using "used" carts..

I am in the process of buying a second user Canon i9100, mainly for A3 printing. (I have been using a CISS with my trusty Epson R300 for a couple of years now). If I retire my Epson, I will have the tanks and tubing available to make a CISS for the Canon. Would it be possible to cut the tops off the Canon cartridges, pull out the sponge and convert them for CISS? I have seen some kits being sold with 'half sponge filled' cartridges. Is that to get the best of both worlds i.e the ink gets filtered but fills quicker?

I am in the process of buying a second user Canon i9100, mainly for A3 printing. (I have been using a CISS with my trusty Epson R300 for a couple of years now). If I retire my Epson, I will have the tanks and tubing available to make a CISS for the Canon. Would it be possible to cut the tops off the Canon cartridges, pull out the sponge and convert them for CISS? I have seen some kits being sold with 'half sponge filled' cartridges. Is that to get the best of both worlds i.e the ink gets filtered but fills quicker?