ContinuousInk.info Forum Index
RegisterSearchFAQMemberlistUsergroups|Join Groups
Knowledge BaseLinksDownloads Gallery 2CalendarLog in
Reply to topic   printer-friendly view Page 1 of 1
Gravity driven CISS anywhere?
Post Gravity driven CISS anywhere? 
I have no experience with CISS but would very much like go use it. Careful study of lots of discussions about all sort of problems, especially with Canon printers, I figured out there should be a very simple system that will not have any of these problems.

That is a system where a constant level of ink in the cartridges is maintained without any fluctuation in air pressure in the cartridge. A very small (filtered) hole at the top of the cartridge allows the print head to really use much of the ink in the cartridge without creating an under pressure.
To maintain the ink level gravity is used, in stat of air (under) pressure. The tube connects the cartridge with a pressure neutral chamber, in or close by the reservoir. In this chamber the ink level is maintained in the usual way and the air pressure above the ink is kept neutral, the same way is in the cartridge, with a (filtered) hole on top.

In a system like this, the ink flow to the cartridge will be very slow but a half filled cartridge will supply more than enough ink to perform heavy tasks. The ink flow is slow but very constant as long as the ink level in the cartridge is low. Ink will flow even when there is no printing.
Adjustable height of the container gives the opportunity to adapt to different situations. If the printer has a lot of free time, the ink level could be lowered so less ink will leak through the print head or the bad connection between head and cartridge. If the printer has to print hundreds of photo’s without pause, maybe the ink level should be kept higher to maintain enough flow from the reservoir.